Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

Hi there! I’m back with another book!

I’ve been on such a roll lately. I’ve finally had the time to finally get reading and I absolutely love it. Unfortunately, the days that I’ll only be reading academic articles are nearing…

Anyway! I recently read the first book in the Percy Jackson series: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan.

image2

I’ve always been a fan of the films and I’d bought this book quite a while back but never got around to actually picking it off my bookshelf and reading it.

A little while back, I finally picked it off my shelf, brushed the dust off and dove right in.

Not to long after, I was already turning the last page…

If you’re interested in Greek mythology and quests, I’m sure you’ll like this one! I first thought it might be too immature for me considering the fact that it’s actually about a 12 year old boy who finds out he’s half-god and that the story-telling will be aimed towards a younger audience. However, I didn’t encounter that feeling at all. I usually turn away from books targeted towards a younger audience because of the writing-style. This one didn’t come off as childish at all! It was easy to read but at the same time, as a reader, you don’t feel like you’re being “talked” to as a child.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief is the first of five books in the series. It revolves around Percy, who doesn’t ever feel like he fits in. He has a history of being kicked out from schools and thus friends wasn’t really a concept he was familiar with. However now he’s got Grover, who’s kind of a “whimp” but is his friend nonetheless.

He never knew his father but knows that he was a great man, according to his loving mother. And then one day his math teacher tries to kill him… Everything changes after that. He is brought to camp Half-Blood where he makes more friends and ends up going on a quest.

Percy and his friends meet many people who may or may not be on his side. It’s a book about friendship, betrayal, and courage.

This page-turner leads up to a surprising turn of events just in the last pages when all seems well. (You’ll probably know this if you’ve seen the film)

Although I’d seen the film, I still found the book intriguing and thought it quite a page-turner.

The book explains Greek mythology with such an ease, which was what attracted me towards the book and film in the first place. The book explains the mythology in a way that the film never could.

I give this book 4.5/5! I really enjoyed this book and I was quite sad when it was over. Luckily there’s a whole series waiting to be read!

Have you read this book? What did you think? Are you interested in Greek mythology?
I’d love to hear from you Β in the comments!

Smile, because Greek mythology is amazing!

Check out what I’m currently reading on Goodreads here!

XVX

 

Leave a Reply

