Firefly Hollow

I know it’s not right to judge a book by its cover… but sometimes I just can’t help it. Especially when it’s this pretty! Plus one of the keywords in its synopsis is supernatural (I read the mini synopsis given by BookBub).

Firefly Hollow (Firefly Hollow, #1)

Oh, how could I resist?!

I honestly finished this book so quickly I barely noticed the time go. I think it was because I was waiting for something that never happened. (Or also the fact that I was suddenly done with uni and was so used to being busy all the time).

Firefly Hollow by T.L. Haddix is the first of the series Firefly Hollow. It’s set in the Appalachia in the 1960’s. It’s about two families: the Brownings and the Campbells.

Once Sarah Browning’s father passes away everything changes. She comes back home to help her mother take care of the house and her family. She leaves her studies behind and finds a job at the local library.

Owen Campbell has always been quiet and keeps to himself. Most people in town hadn’t even known what he looked like until recently. He visits the library regularly where he officially meets Sarah. However, little did Sarah know at the time that she had already met him before albeit in a different form.

Misunderstandings, drama, and, finally, love with a hint of supernatural make this novel.

The appealing factor of this novel is the time in which it is set: the 60s. There were moments where I thought “the things people say and think is so crazy!” but then I have to remind myself that considering the circumstances and situations in the 60s it is only logical that certain events occur.

Contraceptives seemed to be considered a taboo and getting married after one date was normal. However, considering that fact that contraceptives were a new notion and almost unheard of at the time, getting married asap in order to avoid pre-marital conception.

One thing seriously surprised me about this novel. Suddenly, it took a sharp turn in events, which left me absolutely flabbergasted. Throughout more than half the book it’s very sober and mellow until that one event, that is.. It was essentially just a love story in the 60s with a little hint of supernatural. Such a little hint that the presence of the supernatural is considered minor as opposed to the other events occurring (aka the jaw-dropping turn of events).

 

Check out the synopsis on Goodreads:

Book One in the Firefly Hollow Series, Women’s Fiction Romances set in Appalachia.

In 1960, a tragic death in the family calls young Sarah Browning back from college to her Appalachian homestead. Unable to return to school and finish her degree, she finds herself facing a future that isn’t what she’d planned. Lost and grieving, she wanders onto her reclusive neighbor’s property where she stumbles across the all-too-attractive Owen Campbell, a man hiding secrets she’d only ever thought were legend.

Owen Campbell was raised on the folklore of Eastern Kentucky, tales of men and women with magical abilities from shape-shifting to healing powers. Rejected by those he loves because of his own abilities, he isolates himself from the world. When he meets Sarah, he’s faced with the tough decision of whether to let her in or stay hidden away to keep his heart safe.

Please note – this book is NOT a typical paranormal romance. No rage-beast shifters or alpha dogs here. It is, however, at its heart a romance, with a few intimate scenes between the hero and heroine, as well as adult situations dealing with tragedy.

(See the last paragraph? Yeah, if I would have read that it would have spared me a lot of disappointment, haha.)

Here’s the cover I didn’t see:

22602164

All in all this novel was okay. Not an “amazing” okay but also not a “meh/bad” okay. I’d give this a 2.9/5 stars mainly because I found it a little difficult to relate to the characters, however, the same thing kept me interested. I didn’t know the supernatural element would be so low, so in the end it was a little disappointing. Although the sharp turn of events was shocking, I did find it rather dramatic and quite frankly extremely unexpected (which is usually a good thing but this novel was full of sigh ensuing dramatic events).

Although this novel really wasn’t what I expected, it still left me with an itch to read the next in the series.

I have a feeling T.L. Haddix has something in store for us…

Have you read this novel? Or anything else by T.L. Haddix? What did you think? Do you think you want to read this novel? Please do let me know in the comments below!

Happy reading!

XVX

9 thoughts on “Firefly Hollow

Leave a Reply

