Maybelline and Rimmel Lipstick Review

Hi guys! I’m back again with another lippie review.

I’ve been totally obsessed with different lipsticks lately. And they also seem to be on sale everywhere. (Thank you, Kruidvat)

I feel like different lipstick shades just bring your face to life. It doesn’t matter if I’m not wearing any other makeup, I just need something on my lips! I don’t know.. maybe I’m just in one of those phases. Regardless, I love lipsticks. Lipgloss, on the other hand, really isn’t my thing. I think it looks great on other people but I always think it looks a bit much on me. And oh my gosh don’t get me started on the feeling of hair sticking to lips. YEGH.

IMG_7201

Anyway, this post is about two different kinds of lippies, actually. One is the lasting finish by Kate Moss Rimmel in 101: Rossetto. I actually got this one for Christmas. I asked for the 107 and got the 101 instead. I wanted to return it to go get the colour I wanted. Months passed and I kept forgetting to return it. So.. here I am. Haha.. Oops laziness?

The other one is Maybelline color drama intense velvet lip crayon in 510. I thought this looked different and the colour looked absolutely gorgeous and so I just had to pick it up!

IMG_7202

They’re both two completely different colours.

Rimmels’ Kate Moss in 101 

for 9,99 euros at my local drugstore.

This lipstick is a pretty pale pink. I honestly thought it’d be too light for me. And it almost is, however, it’s not too light for me not to wear. It’s a nice pastel pale pink colour. At first I was a little bit iffy about it, but now it’s starting to grow on me. I can definitely combine it with a darker lip liner or another lipstick.

This product comes in the usual Kate Moss Rimmel London packaging. To be honest, I quite like the packaging. I think it’s really cute and compact. I love the crown at the very top of the lid of the lipstick. The signature also gives it a nice touch.

The formula is really smooth and creamy. It’s not matte and it’s definitely not drying. I think it’s pretty easy to apply since it’s so creamy and the colour is quite light. It’s also quite sheer, which makes it great for an everyday look!

The scent of the product is quite sweet. Almost like some type of candy. I prefer a candy-like smell as opposed to something that smells like a plastic factory.

I’d say this lasts more or less 4-5 hours. However, since it transfers, it’s not exactly food and drink- proof, which reduces the lasting time. It’s quite light and sheer, so it’s understandable that it doesn’t last very long. However, it is easily touched up!

IMG_7211

Since I don’t have much to complain about regarding this Kate Moss Rimmel Lipstick other than the lasting power, I think I’ll give it a 4/5. The colour isn’t exactly one I’d personally pick, however, it’s not so bad. I’m actually quite liking it now..

IMG_7204

The other product is the Maybelline lip crayon in 510.

The product literally looks like a red crayon with a black top. It’s small and compact and easily sharpened.

At first, I thought this was really difficult to apply. When it was completely new, it had a really pointed tip, which made it kind of difficult to apply properly on your lips. I just couldn’t get it right the first few times. And I also thought it didn’t look so great on my lips. It looked like I’d drawn something on my lips and it didn’t stay in place. However, once it sort of melted to my lips, so my body heat took control, it got a lot better!

Now it’s so much easier to apply. It feels really smooth and velvety now. It’s as if the product had to get used to my lips and my body heat? I don’t know, I’ve never really experienced such a drastic difference between the first use and later usages. I know this tends to happens with lipsticks, but it wasn’t this drastic.

It’s a deep red colour with orange undertones. It’s not matte and has a bit of a shine, which I’m assuming happens because the product sort of melts on your lips.

There is definitely transfer from the lips, however, I do find it quite long lasting even after having a couple of snacks and drinks. Although, it isn’t completely food and drink proof. I think this lasts more or less 5 hours on my lips.

IMG_7206

Although the ease of usage got better with time, I still don’t think it’s the most convenient product. It’s prudent to have a little bit of concealer in case I mess up, which is really prone to happen. I think lining the lips is probably a good idea before applying this product. All in all I give this product a 4/5. The colour is beautiful and the packaging is cute, however, application can be a pain, in my opinion.

I’m the type of person who likes to mix and match lipsticks and liners. So I thought why not mix these two products together? This was the result:

 

Definitely love this combination! The Rimmel lipstick in 101 gives the Maybelline color crayon a metallic effect. The pink also turns into a deeper, almost purple-ish colour.

Have you tried these products before? What did you think?
Do you like mixing lipsticks, too?

Until next time,

XVX

Leave a Reply

