Chickpeas Pocket Pita Bread

Hello there, fellow humans!

I’m back again with one of my dinner recipes! Recently, I was on the lookout for something light, fresh, and easy. I was dead tired when I got back from Cardiff, so you can imagine how much energy I had in me to prepare a meal for myself. I had a can of chickpeas, pita bread and a whole lot of hummus. So, I thought, let’s experiment a little!

Quite frankly, it’s nothing beyond this world. But when I took a bite, I was in heaven. Probably because I was pretty hungry. But mostly because it’s really good. Also completely vegetarian! Without the sour cream, it’s completely vegan too!

chickpeas pocket pita featured image

So, are you in the mood for something fresh and easy? Then give this a go!

Also, look at this beautiful avocado I bought from the farmer’s market. I couldn’t help but capture it’s photogenic nature…

avocados

On to the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • Half a Can of Chickpeas
  • 2 Pita Bread
  • A Dollop of Sour Cream
  • Half of a Avocado
  • 2 tbsp Hummus (Home-made recipe here)
  • 1 small shallot
  • 1 tomato
  • A little yellow pepper

Seasoning for the chickpeas:

  • 1 tbsp hazelnut oil or olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp paprika powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • sprinkle of parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Preheat your oven to 175 C and line a tray with parchment paper. Place the chickpeas evenly on the paper. Add the oil and seasonings and distribute evenly over the chickpeas. Make sure they’re all coated. Pop them in the oven for about 7-10 minutes. Make sure you pop in to check and give them a little shake to make sure it’s all roasted evenly. Leave them in the oven until they’re golden brown.

Cut up the shallots, tomatoes and pepper into bite size slices.

Once the chickpeas are done, heat up the pita bread for a couple of minutes on the same parchment paper as the chickpeas in the oven.

Meanwhile, cut the avocado into bite size slices. I added some salt and pepper on it to give it a little more flavour.

Cut the pita bread through the middle, so it becomes a sort of pita pocket. Spread the hummus on the inside. Add the chickpeas into the pocket along with the vegetables. Place the avocados at the top with a dollop of sour cream.

And voila! There’s your chickpeas pita pocket. It’s super delicious and insanely quick and delicious! Really great and fresh for the warmer days.

chickpeas pocket pita 4chickpeas pocket pita 1chickpeas pocket pita 2chickpeas pocket pita 3

As they say here in The Netherlands before you eat: Eet Smakelijk!

XVX

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Alyssa says:

    I will be making this one day! 🙂 http://www.alyssas-blog.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Let me know when you do!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

