My life in “frog-land”: Welcome, Nacho.

Holy crap. Have you ever tried to take a photo of an overly energized hamster who has just woken up from his sleep?

Difficult.

Very difficult.

IMG_6756IMG_6761 This little cutie right here couldn’t stop moving. Obviously not a lover of pictures, but photogenic he definitely is.

One fine day, a friend and I went for a Sunday brunch in the city centre. Afterwards we decided to walk around and stumbled upon the petshop. We walked in and saw the bunnies first. A good deal of our friends own bunny rabbits and have been telling us to get one too because they’re oh-so-cute. They’re definitely cute, but when they and their cage takeover our studio apartments, it won’t be so cute anymore.

On a shelf higher than the bunnies were these cute little dwarf hamsters. Yeah. I didn’t know there was such a thing as “dwarf” hamsters. But apparently there is! And let me tell you, they are the cutest ever. Every time I look at normal sized hamsters I think Oh that just looks weird.

Anyway. We saw those little cuties and just knew. I had already named mine. So that was already a given. We came back two days later to bring them home. My friend got her own little hamster. She’s got brown fur with white stripes and paws. Mine, on the other hand, is a little he named NachoYes. I named my pet after an unhealthy snack. Don’t judge me.

IMG_6773

Nacho is a lover of wild berry yoghurt drops and food in general, actually. He’s actually rather slow and likes to stay within his comfort zone. Furthermore, he loves to nibble on the bars of his cage as a way of demanding to be picked up and put into his plastic blue ball in which he can run and explore my studio apartment. His favourite places are currently under my desk, between my shoes, and the kitchen. Cheeky little one, isn’t he?

IMG_6775

Fun fact about Nacho, and other dwarf hamsters, is that they love to stuff as much food in their mouths as possible. Even though the bowl of food isn’t going to move from them and is safely protected with bars, Nacho still feels the need to stuff everything into his cheeks and take it into his little home. Cheeky little one.

2016-02-22 14.14.39

He’s also quite the climber and getting strong as well! He can climb the bars of his little cage all day!

After falling between my desk and window-wall and not being able to get out, he never dared to jump off any high surfaces ever again.

2016-02-27 16.20.17

I’ve never had a pet of my own before other than fishes and little wild chickens (which lasted for about 2 weeks and then I gave them away).

Since I live alone, it’s nice to have another living thing in my surrounding. I don’t necessarily need the company of another human being 24/7, but having a pet is quite nice. Nicer than I thought it’d be. I’d recommend getting a dwarf hamster to anyone who’s living on their own and is considering getting a pet but doesn’t want to dedicate their entire time to them. Or, you know, you could just get one just because you want to. That’s cool too.

2016-03-10 18.12.41

Nice thing about hamsters is that they’re extremely low maintenance. So if you think that they’ll take up too much of your time, you’re wrong! All you have to do is make sure their cage is clean and they have enough food.

Hamsters are pretty social animals as well, so having a little play time now and again is good. But they don’t have to be walked and their litter-box doesn’t have to be cleaned all the time.

2016-03-11 18.16.42

Unfortunately, my friend’s hamster, Nala, and Nacho can’t have play-dates as we initially intended on doing. Since they weren’t born in the same nest, they won’t be able to get along with each other resulting in awful fights. Feisty, aren’t they?

Compared to Nala, Nacho is so different. Nala is fast, hesitant and likes her own space. They’re two completely different personalities!

2016-03-11 18.18.58

Whoever said that hamsters were boring was very wrong.

These little cuties are extremely entertaining. They can’t sit still and need love from their human once in a while too. All the while being low maintenance creatures.

Okay so I was a little excited about my (relatively) new hamster called Nacho. So, I decided to share it with all of you!

Do you have a pet hamster? Or any other pet? Or are you considering getting one?

Thanks for reading!

XVX

19 Comments Add yours

  1. the opening made me laugh so hard – i have kittens, man, i get the struggle..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I’m glad!! I actually considered getting a cat, but I wasn’t ready for such a commitment considering the fact that the only pets I’ve ever had is a fish and little chickens (for 2 weeks).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. omg chickens! thats so cute! i actually didnt want the kittens at first and theyre a surprising amount of work, but i love them so its worth it:)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahah yeah they were two little chickens caught from a farm, which is a little sad. My brother had a friend who had a farm and he just brought me chickens one day, hahha. But I didn’t know how to take care of them so decided to send them back asap.
        Omgosh kittens seem so cute! I bet it’s worth it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ambi says:

    They are so cute .. I am a animal person and love them all. I have a tiny baby kitten 🙂 Love your blog !! Would you like to follow each other on Bloglovin and other social media 🙂 x
    http://www.ambiinwonderland.com

    Like

    1. Aw kittens are so cute!
      Thank you! I checked out your blog and gave you a follow on Bloglovin’ (I couldn’t find the WordPress follow button) Love your blog!

      Like

  3. Morganth3Bayer says:

    I miss having a hamster now!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahah awww, I can imagine, haha! Why don’t you get one? 😀 😀 xx thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      1. Morganth3Bayer says:

        I would get one, but I’m scared it will get out and my dog or cat will catch it 😔..And no problem I’m on the hunt for more blogs to follow! (:

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ohh! Haha that’s definitely a problem.. But at least you’ve got a dog and a cat! I have no room for those.. haha
        Cool! I tried to check out your blog, but it says that it’s no longer available?

        Like

      3. Morganth3Bayer says:

        Yes I would feel so bad if that happened!! My blog should be available 😦 it’s morganth3bayer.wordpress.com

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh hurray! It works! Followed you! You have a very inspirational blog, keep at it!! xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Morganth3Bayer says:

        Yay! Thank you so much!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Nacho! 🙂
    He is very cute! I love hamsters 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha he says hi back 🙂 Thanks! He’s my little cutie. Do you have a hamster? 🙂 xx thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I used to have one a few years back, his ne was Poe and he was black and white, but he turned grey when he got old xD
        He died veeery old and I believe happy.
        And some 10 years ago I had a grey one called Dusty, he was also long lived. Now I have a small dog, and I hope to get a hamster some time again. And a bunny… And a kitten… I gues I’m a future pet hoarder xD

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahah aww! That’s so sweet. Nacho is my first hamster and I hope he’ll live to be old and happy.
        Hahah there’s never too many pets, is there? 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      3. As long as you love them and can give them the attention they deserve, nope 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Very good point! I completely agree 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

