Chocolate Coconut Almond Banana Bread

Chocolate Coconut Almond Banana Bread. Phew. A mouthful, isn’t it?

You know the kind of people who follow a recipe religiously, making strict measurements, not one more or less. Those who keep it simple and end up with something amazingly simply delicious?

I am not one of those people.

I like to stick as many things into a recipe as possible (that I feel fit, of course). And if the measurements deviate a little or a little more than the actual recipe, it doesn’t bother me much. Hence, all the failures I’ve been forced to throw away, exhibit A:  Oreo Churros. This also points to the fact I am by no means a professional baker. That’s a huge and definite no.

But as I sit here, writing this post, and I smell the delicious aroma of the chocolate, almond and banana in the oven it’s as if I haven’t had dinner yet and my stomach is grumbling for a slice of that soft piece of sweet cake-like bread.

featured image banana bread

It all started last Summer, when I went over to my bestie’s place. On her kitchen counter, there was a freshly baked banana bread. It smelled and tasted heavenly. Before I knew it, it was all gone. And no, I wasn’t the one who finished the entire loaf. (I’m looking at you, Tasha’s brother)

Before that first encounter with lovely, satisfying banana bread I barely even acknowledged its existence. Well, except for the banana bread cookies I made a while back

Recently, my Pinterest feed was dominated by all these cake/bread recipes. I took it as a sign and decided to make my own. I adapted my recipe from Eating on a Dime

Prep time: 7 minutes

Oven time: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe bananas (the riper, the better)
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp almond essence
  • 1 tbsp amaretto
  • about 1/4 cup desiccated coconut
  • about 1/8 cup of 85% pure chocolate (this chocolate is pretty intense, hence the low amount of it but feel free to add whatever kind of chocolate and as much of it as you like)

Preheat oven to 175 C. Peel and mash the bananas.

Add the egg, sugar, vanilla, almond, amaretto and mix.

IMG_6779IMG_6781

IMG_6784
I had a little bit of Amaretto left and decided to use it all up. It was honestly enough. Any more would have dominated the bananas.

Then add the salt and baking soda and mix well. Next add the flour and mix well. When all is incorporated, add the coconut and chocolate and fold it into mixture.

IMG_6786

In a greased pan, I used PAM spray (I cannot emphasize how much I absolutely love this spray. It’s super easy to use and no sticky mess!), pour in banana bread mixture.

Pop that into the oven for 40 – 55 minutes. I had mine for 45 minutes and thought it was perfect even though it cracked a little in the middle, so maybe I should have gone for 40 minutes. Hey, you live you learn, right?

Once it’s out of the oven, let it cool for a bit before you dig in.

This goes really well with butter or even peanut butter!

Happy eating!

XVX

Follow me on Pinterest!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. amelialjones says:

    I’d never have thought to put coconut in my banana bread – this sounds so good, I cant wait to try. I made some chili chocolate brownies a couple of days ago – if you haven’t tried them before go look, they are so yummy and its only a subtle flavor – promise x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You really should! I loved the hint of coconut in this one. Please do let me know when you do! Oh wow I’ve never tried chili chocolate brownies but they sound really good, actually. I’ll definitely give them a look!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. amelialjones says:

    So I tried your banana bread today- I had a craving bake – it was so much better than I thought it was going to be. I’m never going back, I sent it to one of my friends like YOU HAVE TO TRY THIS!! Thanks so much

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg! I know right? It’s absolutely delicious! And thank you so much!! It’s always nice to hear others are reading my rambles, haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. amelialjones says:

    Aha well I’m looking forwards to what else you’ve got 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

