Hot Sauce Potato Stacks

It feels good being back in the kitchen and trying new things out. Don’t get me wrong, I like my “usuals” but having something different now and then and getting inspired by the amazing Pinterest just adds a spark to a mundane survival task like eating.

This one isn’t much but it was a nice variant of the usual potato wedges or mash I usually make.

These pictures were made with my good old Iphone 5, and the lighting really doesn’t do much for these delicious potato stacks.

2016-02-20 19.09.45

2016-02-20 19.09.34

What you will need:

  • 3 potatoes (I made 6 stacks but the amount of slices you stack up is completely up to you!)
  • dried oregano
  • dried thyme
  • olive oil / garlic oil
  • sale and pepper to taste
  • grated Parmesan cheese
  • About 1 tsp of hot sauce (I used a Papaya hot sauce from Aruba and this one’s quite strong so it depends on your preference)
  • muffin tin

Slice your potatoes thinly, about quarter inch or as thin as you can go! The thinner they are, the crispier they become! Some people like to peel the skin off, I enjoy the skin so I leave it on. This is completely up to you!

Next, put them in a bowl and coat the potatoes with the rest of the ingredients except Parmesan Cheese.

This is the hot sauce I used. A staple in my kitchen!2016-02-20 21.51.10

Stack the potato slices in a muffin tin, which has been lightly sprayed with Pam spray or oiled ever so slightly to avoid any sticking. The oil from the potatoes should be enough, though. I still sprayed the muffin tin anyway just in case.

Pop that into the oven for about 25-35 minutes and they should be done! Stick a fork into them and if it’s soft, then they should be ready.

While they’re still hot, sprinkle some Parmesan cheese at the top.

2016-02-20 19.09.45

The hot sauce added to the oompf of these potato stacks. I had them as a side to my stir fry noodles. Not the number one combination but it was definitely delicious!

2016-02-20 19.09.27

If you do try this out or know any other variations of this recipe, please do let me know!

Thanks for reading and happy eating!

XVX

Leave a Reply

