The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

I want to say that I made this amazing coconut cake that led to the best events in my life including finding my soulmate and opening a restaurant, but I’d be lying.

I also want to say I came up with this witty title to share the experience of making the best ever coconut cake, but I’d be lying again.

If I have to tell the truth, it’s the title of a book I recently finished reading! I haven’t read a book quite like this one, until now obviously.

It’s basically your predictable chick-lit “boy-meets-girl-but-ex-ruins-everything” story, which I honestly enjoy. But what made this one stand out was, for one, theΒ coconut cake. I mean, seriously, the way Reichert describes this coconut cake is off the roof. I seriously am going to make this coconut cake in the very near future. To my surprise, there was actually a specific recipe at the end of the book, which is rather different for these types of novels.

Another element that made this book stand out was the description of Milwaukee. I have never been and, to be quite honest, never had the desire to either. After reading this book, however, it’s made its way on my list! Reichert really promotes Milwaukee and the variety and richness of food available in this place is pleasantly astonishing and not to mention drool-worthy.

I mean the protagonist, Lou, will be baking that coconut cake and I swear I could almost smell the sweet smell of vanilla bean in the air and almost taste the spongy fluffiness of that cake. And not to mention to toasted coconut flakes sprinkled on top.

The story wasn’t extraordinary, but the coconut cake recipe, description of food and Milwaukee itself really make the book!

I haven’t read Reichert’s other books, but if they were like this I definitely want to!

This is definitely not a book for everyone, especially those who really need a story to keep them hooked. I’d say this is more for the food-and-chick-lit lovers out there. It’s for those who truly appreciate food, and then mix that with a cute love story.

In overall, I’d give this book 3/5 stars. 5/5 for food, though.

I guess you could say I really love food. Yep. Definitely.

Let me know if you’ve read this or something similar to this! I’d love to know!

Smile on because, c’mon, tell me this coconut cake doesn’t make you drool already.

25650078

XVX

 

Leave a Reply

