Chocolate Lovers, Anyone?

Chocolate lovers, they’re everywhere right? I’ve got nothing against them. Heck I’M one myself. As I sit here nibbling my decadent piece of dark chocolate I wonder how there are actual human beings on this planet who find chocolate appalling. I mean, really, are you really human?

Okay, okay. I get it. There are two kinds of people in this world. One kind that love chocolate and others that can’t stand it. It’s all about balance.

Anyway! This post isn’t about actual edible chocolate. It’s about a book series I started reading last Summer thanks to the recommendation by my bestie (who is, in my opinion, the best one to go to for book recommendations).

She recommended the Chocolate Lovers series by Tara Sivec to me. And yes. This series does include delicious treats and chocolate combinations I never even thought about. I mean chocolate covered salted chips? It’s already making my mouth water.

The first in the series, Seduction and Snacks, is about a woman who lost her virginity to this perfect guy at a frat party and ended up pregnant. She didn’t know the guy’s name, so didn’t contact him. She ends up working at a bar in a small town where her father lives. She lives with her father and her obnoxiously inappropriate adorable four-year-old son Gavin.

The novel starts off four years from that perfect, or not so perfect, night when she met the (at the moment) nameless guy. Her life turns around when he stumbles into her bar and she completely freaks out and doesn’t talk to him. But of course she does, otherwise there wouldn’t be a story would there?

Now you must be wondering, why the heck is it called Chocolate Lovers then? What was all that talk about yummy treats? Well, my friend, this girl, Claire, has a passion for baking and dreams about starting her own business. So, I guess you know where this is going, right?

This book will keep a smile on your face throughout your entire read. I found myself giggling every other page and shaking my head to the events that take place. Claire’s sense of humour is outrageous and kind of brutal. She can be pretty extreme sometimes but, honestly, I can’t deny that crazy things like that go through my mind sometimes too. It’s only human!

Not only do you get Claire’s perspective but you also get the guy’s perspective, which is a nice balance and it also shows how utterly stupid people can be, haha. I mean if you just talked to each other, things would be so much easier. But then there wouldn’t be a story, would there? To be honest, I enjoyed Sivec’s writing style more than the story. It’s what gave it my stamp of approval!

I just finished Futures and Frosting, which is the second in the series and I absolutely loved it!
It’s a brilliant get-away and a great laugh!

Let me know if you’ve read this or decide to give it a go! If you’re a lover of rom-coms and chick-lits, I promise you will not regret reading Tara Sivec’s Chocolate Lovers series. Or at least Seduction and Snacks and Futures and Frosting.
As a bonus, Claire often describes the delicious treats she’s making or inventing, so you’ll probably end up with chocolate cravings every other chapter, haha.

Happy reading!

XVX

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Lovers, Anyone?

Leave a Reply

