Late Night Baking Time – Apple Crisp

It was about time that I finally baked again. It’s been so busy lately I don’t have time for the little things like baking. From classes to essays to parties, it’s a wonder how I even get time to breathe a little. Nonetheless, I’m enjoying life so that’s a plus!

So last night I had dinner and later thought that I just needed some baked goods in my life. I was contemplating whether I should make brownies or apple crisp/crumble. It was a tough choice but I had apples in the fridge that were just crying out loud to be eaten so that made my choice a little easier. Also, I only had two eggs left and I wanted to keep those for breakfast for the next day so that made my decision even easier..

This recipe is so simple and easy and takes up almost no time! Well, it needs to bake, but there’s just so much to do it’ll pass by in a flash!

IMG_6456

I read a couple of recipes online and well, just sort of “winged it” in the kitchen as I usually do. Due to this “winging” I ended up with too much mix for the top layer, but hey that ended up being a good thing because in the end, it was the best part.

I also “winged” my measurements so I’m going to try and remember roughly how much of each ingredient I put into the mix. On top of winging it, my measuring cups are in milliliters so that’s always tricky since everything online is measured in cups..

Preparation time:  10 minutes

Oven time: 30 minutes

You will need:

For the top/crumble/crisp:

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp coconut butter
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • Some m&m’s

For the filling:

  • 2 Jona gold apples (large sized)
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pumpkin spice
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • Little less than 1/4 cup flour

Optional:

  • Ice cream (preferably vanilla)

Instructions:

Start off by preheating your oven to about 180 C. (I always forget this part…)

Slice the apples about 1/4 inch thick. Most people tend to peel the apples but I left the skin on because I’m a rebel. No just kidding, I think it’s just personal preference and honestly, I just forgot to peel the skin.. And it turned out just fine! So this part’s up to you.

Get a bowl and add all the ingredients for the filling into the bowl and make sure the apples are nice and covered with the mix.

IMG_6401.JPG

In another bowl, mix all the ingredients for the filling.

IMG_6402

Usually people add a stick of butter and knead it until pea-sized lumps are formed. I didn’t have that much butter so I added some coconut butter to it. I knead that with my hands until I thought the mix was sticky enough.

IMG_6405

Get a baking tray and grease that with some butter or Pam spray (bless the soul who invented butter in a can). Pour the apple mixture evenly in the tray. Top it off with the oatmeal mixture. Initially I thought crap! I’ve got too much of this mix. What am I going to do? So I basically just packed it on the apples until all the mix was gone. I made sure it was all nice and packed and popped that into the oven for about half hour.

This dessert is best served hot and preferably with a bit of vanilla ice cream on the top!IMG_6458

It was so unbelievably satisfying. The apples were beautifully caramelized and the top oatmeal layer was perfectly crispy.  It wasn’t overly sweet but just perfect! IMG_6450

The m&m’s gave it a nice chocolatey surprise. I should have crushed the m&m’s, though. This was, however, not bad either. The M&M’s had melted and it was just amazingIMG_6457IMG_6456

Oh so delicious! So good with a nice cup of tea on the side, cozy on the couch on a cold night.

Smile ’cause tis the season to not feel guilty about desserts!

XVX

5 Comments Add yours

  1. These look delicious, loving the post! I could just tuck into a slice of that myself! 🙂 Hx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joji says:

    Looks magically delicious 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahah, thanks! It really was.. I tried re-making it from the top of my head and drastically failed. But this one really turned out well!

      Like

      1. joji says:

        Lol, splendidness indeed 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

