Dusseldorf Christmas Market

Last weekend my friends and I made a trip to one of Europe’s famous Christmas markets. We went to the market in Dusseldorf for a day.

I had heard so many good things about these markets that I couldn’t wait to finally go to one! Germany is really nearby where I live so the trip wasn’t too long either. About 1-2 hours.

We got there around 10:30 in the morning and it’s safe to say that the market was wide open for anyone who was as bat-crazy about Christmas like me. Every little square had little huts full of Christmasey goodness. Some with beautifully hand-made ornaments, some with candles, and a whole lot with sugary treats but also just yummy goodies.

This was one of the first little stalls we passed by and I instantly fell in love with a coppery candle holder that was set on a plain old shelf. (You can see it in the picture below, it’s where the lit up candle holders are):

IMG_6181

As I said, there were sugary treats everywhere. After all, Christmas is the time for all the sugar in the world!

IMG_6189IMG_6187IMG_6188IMG_6194

The simple yet beautiful Christmas tree of Dusseldorf Christmas market:

IMG_6256IMG_6195

Not only were there sweets everywhere, but also glue wine and eggnog. I had never tried eggnog before and decided to give it a shot. To my surprise, it was more rum than whatever else. For those who don’t know, it’s a spiced sweet drink with lots of alcohol. It was delicious but definitely not recommended for before noon. On the bright side, I got to keep this cute little stocking-shaped mug!

IMG_6198

Cutesy little Christmas villages everywhere. Of course we were free to buy ourselves all these little ornaments. I probably would have if I weren’t a student since all these cute things were beyond my budget… Nonetheless a pretty sight!

IMG_6208IMG_6205IMG_6197

We stopped at Woyton cafe to have a little bite and a drink. I shared the Chicken Ceasar Salad Bagel with a friend and it’s safe to say it was mouth-watering. It was warm and soft and so full of flavour and not to mention the chicken was nice and tender it couldn’t have been better! The entire cafe had a warm and cozy feel to it. Perfect for a cold day! I definitely recommend this cute little hipster cafe if you’re stopping by.

IMG_6216

We got hungry later and decided to give in to what one of the little huts had to offer. These Kartoffels were seriously delicious. Made of potatoes, chives, and other spices and deep fried this crispy potato-ey goodness were to die for! But no seriously, they should have killed me with all the grease it had but definitely worth it! I wasn’t able to finish the entire plate…

IMG_6223

You could pour as much of Ketchup, Mayo or Applesauce for your Kartoffels. Applesauce, yeah you read that right. Sounds so strange but trust me I think it was the best combination! Oh these Germans… Come up with the best ideas.. Applesauce with potatoes. YUM.

IMG_6224

A trip to Germany wouldn’t be complete without seeing wurst. Unfortunately these sausages usually contain all kinds of meats including beef. I don’t eat beef so these were a no-no for me. But I can’t deny that they smelled really nice! According to my friends, they really were delicious and they definitely recommend trying them if you’re ever there! Especially the curry wurst.

IMG_6227

The bread around it is just for show, isn’t it? It’s the wurst you want.

IMG_6229

Loved all these huts with the cutest ornaments and lights. Really brings the Christmas “feels”.

IMG_6237IMG_6239

Behold! A Ferris wheel we only noticed until the end! I can only imagine how beautiful the view would have been from the top! (Considering it was rather pricey…)

IMG_6347

Cutest little carousel with elephants and unicorns! Even more beautiful when it’s lit up:

IMG_6299IMG_6302IMG_6322IMG_6331

The market was so beautiful when the sun set. With all the lights lit up, it brought the Christmas feeling into my life.

IMG_6335

All in all, it was a wonderful experience. I intend on going again, if not to Dusseldorf! It was smaller than I thought it would be because I had seen the preparation of the Christmas market last year in Berlin. I guess this one was a smaller city and less of an international city, right? Nonetheless it’s a spectacular sight and one you should see at least once in your lifetime!

I am so excited for Christmas now thanks to the Christmas market!

Hope you are too!

IMG_6383

Happy holidays!

XVX

 

One thought on “Dusseldorf Christmas Market

Leave a Reply

