Pataks’s Butter Chicken

Recently, I was browsing through the “indian groceries” isle at the local supermarket (Albert Heijn). I usually don’t put high hopes in traditional dishes made from packets because they never really taste like the real thing especially when it comes to dishes that involve a plethora of spices. Despite my low expectations for pre-packed pastes and spices, I browsed the isle anyway. I came across Patak’s Butter Chicken. It was a simple old thing in a jar. The instructions said to cut up a chicken, cook it, and add the sauce and you’re done. The minute I read that I already decided that was not what I was going to do but I bought the jar nonetheless because I was intrigued and decided to give it a chance.
Oh, how surprised I was by the aroma the sauce let off the minute it touched the pan. Oh my gosh I could not get over how amazing it smelled! I’m still trying to figure out what that amazingly familiar aroma was. My guesses are either fennel or green cardamom but I can’t say for sure. All I can say for sure is that I was pleasantly surprised. The dish itself was surprisingly tasty and authentic.
As mentioned above, I didn’t follow the instructions word by word. I marinated the chicken in coriander powder, cumin powder, turmeric powder, chili powder, and yoghurt. I cooked that in butter and set aside. I proceeded by cooking garlic, onion, yellow pepper, and a little zucchini (just to have another vegetable) in some butter. I then added the chicken to the vegetables and proceeded by pouring half of the jar’s contents to the chicken mix. And honestly, I didn’t do much more and it was done! I had it with some chappati or roti and it couldn’t have been better!

IMG_6132
I completely forgot to take a picture of my plate, but I was just too hungry and devoured it before I could think of anything else.
Ooh I can still smell the nostalgic aroma of this surprisingly tasty dish…

Smile because who doesn’t love Butter Chicken?

XVX

2 thoughts on “Pataks’s Butter Chicken

Leave a Reply

