The Importance of the Awareness of Education

I just wanted to take a minute and write something that has bothered me for a while.

Taking education seriously. Is it such a bad thing?

I have always been the one in my group of friends to put education at first priority. It might be because of my upbringing since my parents always made my life revolve around school and studying. They would go through all means to make sure I had a proper education and that my environment was study-friendly. Studying comes first no matter what the situation is.

Naturally, the study-is-first mentality has been drilled into me and so that’s kind of the way it is for me now, too. I live alone now and I’m halfway across the world from my family. I’ve come to the Netherlands to go to a good university and study my arse off and make a career for myself.

So, I have always been the nerdy friend who kept up with all her notes and made sure she got her homework done before class. I’m not one to bunk classes or go to class without having done the homework. It just doesn’t feel right to me. Some of my friends, on the other hand, don’t seem to agree with education being first priority in my life. When I say first priority, I mean if I had an exam the next day and the option to study or hang out with a friend, I’d most probably choose studying. It’s not that I don’t want to hang out, it’s just I need to study and that comes first.

It’s gone to the extend as to having me labelled as “the one who’s always studying” or “the one who always puts school first”. It almost feels like they’re rolling their eyes while saying it. My question is, why is that such a bad thing? Is it so bad that I’d like to pass my exams, get my degree and pursue a career?

Some even take pride in not putting any effort in their studies or never actually having entered a library. I might be biased but I don’t agree that it’s something to be proud of. Partying all night while having exams shortly isn’t something to be proud of, is it?

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I don’t ever go out or hang out with friends. It’s just if I have to study, I’m completely upfront about it and, honestly, I don’t think it’s a bad thing at all. If you’re choosing YOU then it’s totally fine. Putting education first is not necessarily a bad thing. “Nerdy” shouldn’t be accompanied by an eye-roll. Choosing to set your mind at ease and not regretting to having not studied enough the day earlier on the exam is completely FINE. Isn’t it? Am I the only one who feels this way? I sure do hope not!

 

tumblr_mx40poGAzT1t4iob6o1_500

 

Anyways, I guess what I’m trying to say is never let the words of others, even if they’re relatively close to you, let you feel as if your ambitions are worthless.

Until next time,

XVX

(I don’t take credit for the images used in this post)

Leave a Reply

