Squash Potato Soup

Well hello there! It’s yet another Autumn-y soup post!

This time I was feeling rebellious and opted for a butternut squash instead of my usual orange pumpkin. It’s safe to say I do not regret that choice.

Having a friend over for dinner put all the more pressure on my shoulders. I mean, what if it tastes rubbish? Maybe I should have just stuck with the orange pumpkin. Wait, what if I forget to add .. pumpkin pie spice??? All these worries drill in my head as I drop my spoon and almost chop my hand off while cutting the squash. Cooking for myself is one thing but having someone else taste my food and judging my cooking skills on that one dish is beyond terrifying!

I always get really anxious when people come over for dinner. I somehow always manage to mess something up or worse, burn something. As I actually did tonight.. by leaving the garlic bread too long in the oven. Sighs. At least it wasn’t inedible. That counts right?

Nah but the burned garlic bread made no difference to how delicious the soup was! Squash is my current favourite vegetable, people. The creamy texture of it and not to mention how it was slightly easier to peel the skin off of that thing. I swear, peeling the skin off any type of pumpkin is a work out in itself!Β 2015-10-27 15.02.18

But okay, on to the recipe before I forget! (I usually just wing it while I’m cooking and tend to forget soon after so here goes!) This recipe yields for two, or at least it was enough for the two of us!

  • 1/2 kilo of squash
  • 1 medium sized potato
  • half of a sweet chilly pepper
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 inch fresh ginger
  • half onion
  • 1 tsp turmeric powder
  • half tsp chilly powder
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • half cup green lentils
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • t tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 bay leaves.

I started off by cutting up the squash into pieces of 1-2 inches and coated it with olive oil and hazelnut oil with a sprinkle of salt. I put that into my baking tray and into the over for about 10-15 minutes at 180 C until they’re relatively soft.

Melt the coconut oil in your soup pot. Saute the garlic, ginger, and onion for about a minute. Add the green lentils to the pot and mix. Add the potatoes, sweet chilly pepper, and baked squash into the pot and mix with the onion mixture. Pour inΒ the broth, water, and coconut milk to the pot. Add in the seasonings; turmeric, chilly, pumpkin pie spice powder, dried basil and parsley, and bay leaves. Let this boil for about 10 minutes until the potatoes are soft.

Once the potatoes are soft, get your stick blender and blend all of that into a smooth and soup-y like texture. If your soup is too thick, add some more coconut milk.

Pour into bowls and garnish with some coconut milk and dried parsley. I was daring and went ahead and sprinkled some bacon bits on mine (honestly it only made it prettier but added nothing regarding flavour).

And voila! Your soup is ready!

We had it with some ready made garlic bread on the side and some bread sticks.

2015-10-27 18.22.18

I hope this delicious soup brings a smile to your face and your tummy!

Until next time!

XVX

2 thoughts on “Squash Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

