Late Evening Baking Time – Banana Oreo Chocolate Chip Brownies

Okay I did it again!

So it all started off with an early dinner because I was starving by the time I’d gotten back from the university where I was steadfastly working on my essay on Shakespeare’s As you like it and Beaumont’s The Knight of the Burning Pestle. Yes so early dinner equals getting hungry later at night.

I had two overly ripe bananas, when I say overly ripe I mean downright black bananas that had to be used or thrown out ASAP. I also had a Ghirardelli chocolate chip brownie mix (my absolute favourite!) in stock. So, technically, I didn’t do all that much other than follow the instructions of the brownie pack and add a couple of extra things myself.

So basically, I used one Ghirardelli Chocolate Chip Brownie packet. 1 overly ripe banana, and some crushed Oreos.

The original brownie recipe requires 1/3 cup of water, 1/3 cup of oil (which I substituted with coconut oil because why not?) and 1 egg. I mashed up my banana and added it to the eggs, oil, and water. More bananas can definitely be added. Next, I added the brownie mix. Once that was properly combined, I crushed some Oreos with my hands (so I had different sized pieces of Oreos) and added it to the entire mixture.

IMG_5840

I poured that into my itty bitty baking tray and baked that for about 10-15 minutes at 350 F. I had some mixture left so I decided to use my silicone cupcake liners and make some Banana Oreo Chocolate Chip Brownie muffins! IMG_5857

In the end, the banana flavour wasn’t dominant but it added a little spark to the brownies. I should have added more oreas because I would have likes some more oreos in one bite but it was definitely a nice surprise for those who didn’t know I’d added oreos in them, haha. I’m a firm believer of adding anything sweet or chocolaty to my brownies. Even though classic brownies are amazing, I like to amp them up a little with anything that tickles my fancy!

So now I’ve got a whole lot of brownies at home but I don’t think that will last very long. I took some with me to class and it’s safe to say it wasn’t hard finishing the box.

IMG_5853

Happy baking!

Keep that smile on because everyone loves brownies!

XVX

2 thoughts on “Late Evening Baking Time – Banana Oreo Chocolate Chip Brownies

Leave a Reply

