Late Evening Baking Time! – Banana Bread Oatmeal Chocolate Cookies

So here’s this thing about me.. my favourite time to bake is at night, preferably nearing the hours of midnight. Don’t ask me why, that’s literally the time when I spontaneously conjure up some type of dessert to satisfy my sweet tooth. Tonight it was banana oatmeal chocolate cookies! I was scrolling through Pinterest and found this spectacular eggless recipe from Running with Spoons, which is to die for! I literally spent less than 10 minutes in the kitchen preparing it and another 10 minutes waiting for it to come out of my mini oven so I could devour them.

Since my spontaneous dessert-making is well.. spontaneous and usually after work hours when all supermarkets are closed, I have to make do with the ingredients I’ve got lying around in my kitchen. Luckily, this recipe didn’t take any fancy ingredients and I was able to make it without too many alterations.

All it took was combining all purpose flour, oats, baking powder, and salt. I decided to add some pumpkin spice because I just can’t get enough of it. And then combine melted coconut oil, vanilla extract, brown sugar, and a mashed ripe banana. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and combine them together. And lastly, fold in the chocolate chips, I used crushed chocolate I had lying in my fridge.

This is what my mixture looked like:

Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Cookies Mix

The oven should be preheated to 350 F or 180 C.

Add a tablespoon of the mixture to your baking sheet, I wished I had wax paper for this because it would have avoided the mess I now have lying in the sink. After a failed attempt (even though the cookies were amazing despite the residue on my baking tray) I decided to use some Pam spray on my baking tray to minimize the mess. When I say mess, I mean a layer of the cookies sticking to my tray and hence becoming burned since I had several batches to bake in my mini oven.

Baking time should be about 7-10 minutes or until the cookies are golden brown.

I think they’re healthier than the average cookie and also vegetarian! Which is great since I’m vegetarian on Mondays. So this means I get to have some of these amazing cookies tomorrow too!

They’re best when they’re still hot and the chocolate is basically oozing out of the cookie whilst you take a bite. They’re soft and fluffy and downright satisfaction. Especially if you love bananas!

For precise measurements, head on over to Running with Spoons since I can’t take full credit for this recipe.

Hope you enjoy!

Banana Bread Oatmeal Cookies

Keep on smiling!

XVX

2 thoughts on “Late Evening Baking Time! – Banana Bread Oatmeal Chocolate Cookies

Leave a Reply

